• The prognosis for concussion is usually good.

    We will support you during return to sports.

  • The Swiss Concussion Center places special emphasis on a multidisciplinary diagnostic

    with the focus on the needs of the players.

  • Our research is guided by clinical relevance

    and follows the highest scientific standards.

  • Our baseline examinations and training courses are the foundation

    for an optimal and therapeutic management.

In collaboration of the Schulthess Clinic with physicians of the Department of Neurology University Hospital Zurich, the Swiss Concussion Center provides the optimum combination of specialists and experience in elite sports that is required for successful management after a concussion. The Swiss Concussion Center is part of the Schulthess foundation.

Athletes

Many types of sport are associated with a risk of concussion, irrespective of whether this is at the amateur or professional level. Based on your symptoms, we will conduct a tailored analysis of your condition and will advise you on a timely and safe return to routine training and competitive sports. Therapeutic measures that are devised on an individual basis and adapted to requirements will be introduced and implemented at your local club or also in the Swiss Concussion Center.

Physicians and physiotherapists

We guarantee immediate assessment of a concussion after timely referrals. We place a high priority on close collaboration with the medical team looking after the affected athlete, to ensure a safe and rapid return to routine training and competitive sports. Athletes at high risk of longer recovery times will be identified at an early stage so that optimum therapeutic measures can be initiated.

Relatives

We feel responsible for the management of all concussion associated with sports, irrespective of whether your daughter, son, girlfriend, boyfriend or other relatives are affected. We place a high priority on the rapid assessment and treatment of all forms of concussion and the associated symptoms.

Please contact us by telephone on +41 (0)44 385 72 00
or by email for general questions or patient referrals.

Evidence-based medical diagnostics and treatment

Our assessment and treatments are based on the current state of the art and thus ensure optimum care is provided for athletes.

Broad range of specialists - quality assurance

Our team is made up of specialists with different expertise who guarantee high-quality diagnosis and therapy, irrespective of the primary symptoms. Quality assurance forms an integral part of the process.

Advanced technologies for examinations and therapies

We use newest advanced technologies devices for examination and measurements to locate and quantify functional and structural abnormalities as precisely as is possible.

Tailored to the requirements of elite athletes

Our team has many years of experience in elite sports. We will put together an individual treatment concept for you and guarantee efficiency and discretion.

The most important questions at a glance

What are the core characteristics of concussion?

Answer

When should I go to the closest hospital?

Answer

When can I take part in competition again?

Answer

  • Beat Salzmann, wrestler

    “Since concussions are fairly rare in Swiss wrestling and the experience is correspondingly limited, I am happy to be receiving professional support from the Swiss Concussion Center. One does not feel left alone.”

  • Cuno Wetzel, Team physician, BSC Young Boys

    “Thanks to the baseline examinations provided by the Swiss Concussion Center, our situation at the start of the season is such that we can rapidly and reliably react to any potential concussion that occur over the course of the season.”

  • Alain Nef, Defender FC Zurich

    “The examinations were very professional, and I received optimum treatment. It was important to me that these tests were carried out on me at the time. The data that were collected were very helpful to me after my concussion. This meant that I could return to the game without worrying and with a clear conscience that everything was 100 percent in order again.”

  • Felicien Du Bios, defender, HC Davos

    “Head injuries always involve some uncertainty. That’s why it is extremely important to me as a professional athlete to be able to count on the highly competent team at the Swiss Concussion Center”

  • Samuel Kreis, defender, SC Bern

    “The team at the Swiss Concussion Center gave me great support. It was only when I was able to go to the Swiss Concussion Center and I started working with the team that I saw light at the end of the tunnel and believed I would be able to return to the ice quickly. The treatment goes beyond the injury. The physicians and the team continue to support me after the injury.”

Blog News

Introduction of the Swiss Concussion Centre

On 2 March 2017, the first SCC training course for physicians,…
,

Swiss Concussion Center at the Zurich BrainFair for the first time

Since 2002, the University Hospital, the University of Zurich…

The SCC at the IOC World Conference

The „5. IOC World Conference - Prevention of Injury and Illness…

• Gehirnerschütterungen haben meistens eine gute Prognose.

    Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Wiederaufnahme des Sports.

  • Unser Zentrum legt den Schwerpunkt auf eine multidisziplinäre Diagnostik.

    Wir stellen dabei die Bedürfnisse der Sportler in den Mittelpunkt.

  • Unsere Forschung orientiert sich an der klinischen Relevanz

    und folgt höchsten wissenschaftlichen Standards.

  • Unsere Basis-Untersuchungen und Schulungen sind die Grundlagen

    für ein optimales diagnostisches und therapeutisches Management.

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit der Schulthess Klinik und der Klinik für Neurologie des UniversitätsSpitals Zürich bietet das Swiss Concussion Center die optimale Kombination von Spezialisten und Erfahrungen im Leistungssport für ein erfolgreiches Management nach einer Gehirnerschütterung. Das Swiss Concussion Center wird durch die Schulthess Stiftung getragen.

Sportler / Sportlerinnen

Das Risiko für Gehirnerschütterungen besteht bei vielen Sportarten – egal, ob auf Amateur- oder Profi-Niveau. Wir führen abhängig von Ihren Symptomen eine massgeschneiderte Diagnostik durch und beraten Sie im Hinblick auf eine möglichst frühe und sichere Wiederaufnahme des Routinetrainings und des Wettkampfsports. Individualisierte und auf die Bedürfnisse angepasste Therapiemassnahmen werden in Ihrem Heimatverein oder auch im Swiss Concussion Center eingeleitet und durchgeführt.

Ärzte und Physiotherapeuten

Wir garantieren eine unmittelbare Beurteilung nach einer Gehirnerschütterung bei zeitnaher Zuweisung. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem medizinischen Betreuerteam des betroffenen Sportlers hat bei uns hohe Priorität, um eine sichere und schnelle Wiederaufnahme des Routinetrainings und des Wettkampfsports zu gewährleisten. Sportler mit einem erhöhten Risiko für einen längeren Verlauf werden frühzeitig identifiziert, sodass optimale Therapiemassnahmen eingeleitet werden können.

Angehörige

Wir fühlen uns für das Management sämtlicher sportassoziierter Gehirnerschütterungen verantwortlich, egal ob Ihre Tochter, Ihr Sohn, Ihre Freundin, Ihr Freund oder sonstige Angehörige betroffen sind. Eine speditive Abklärung und Behandlung sämtlicher Formen von Gehirnerschütterungen und den damit zusammenhängenden Symptomen hat bei uns Priorität.

Kontaktieren Sie uns telefonisch unter +41 (0)44 385 72 00
oder per E-Mail für allgemeine Fragen oder Patientenzuweisungen.

Evidenz-basierte medizinische Diagnostik und Behandlung

Unsere Abklärungen und Behandlungen orientieren sich am aktuellen Stand der Forschung und sorgen dadurch für eine optimale Betreuung der Sportler.

Breites Spektrum an Spezialisten - Qualitätssicherung

Unser Team besteht aus Spezialisten mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten, die Diagnostik und Therapie auf hohem Niveau gewährleisten, egal welche Symptome im Vordergrund stehen. Qualitätssicherung ist eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Neueste apparative Abklärungen und Therapien

Wir verwenden neueste apparative Untersuchungs- und Messmethoden, um funktionelle oder strukturelle Auffälligkeiten möglichst präzise zu lokalisieren und zu quantifizieren.

Auf die Bedürfnisse von Leistungssportlern ausgerichtet

Unser Team verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung im Leistungssport. Wir stellen Ihnen ein individuelles Behandlungskonzept zusammen und achten dabei auf Effizienz und Diskretion.

Die wichtigsten Fragen auf einen Blick

Was sind die wichtigsten Merkmale einer Gehirnerschütterung?

Antwort

Wann sollte ich das nächstliegende Krankenhaus aufsuchen?

Antwort

Wann kann ich wieder am Wettkampf teilnehmen?

Antwort

  • Beat Salzmann, Schwinger

    „Da im Schwingsport Gehirnschütterungen eher selten und entsprechend die Erfahrungen klein sind, bin ich froh, die professionelle Unterstützung vom Swiss Concussion Center zu erhalten. Man fühlt sich nicht alleingelassen.“

  • Cuno Wetzel, Teamarzt, BSC Young Boys

    „Dank der Basistestungen des Swiss Concussion Centers schaffen wir von Saisonbeginn an eine Ausgangslage, die es uns während der Saison ermöglicht, rasch und zuverlässig auf mögliche Gehirnerschütterungen zu reagieren.“

  • Alain Nef, Verteidiger, FC Zürich

    „Die Untersuchungen verliefen sehr professionell, und ich wurde optimal betreut. Es war wichtig für mich, dass diese Testungen damals bei mir gemacht wurden. Die erhobenen Daten haben mir nach meiner Gehirnerschütterung sehr geholfen. Ich konnte so sorgenfrei wieder auf das Spielfeld zurückkehren und hatte ein ruhiges Gewissen, dass wieder alles zu 100 Prozent in Ordnung ist.“

  • Felicien Du Bios, Verteidiger, HC Davos

    „Kopfverletzungen beinhalten immer einen Teil Ungewissheit. Deswegen ist es für mich als Profi-Sportler extrem wichtig, auf das sehr kompetente Team des Swiss Concussion Center zählen zu können.“

  • Samuel Kreis, Verteidiger, SC Bern

    „Das Team des Swiss Concussion Centers hat mich super betreut. Erst als ich in das Swiss Concussion Center konnte und die Arbeit mit dem Team aufnahm, sah ich ein Licht am Ende des Tunnels und glaubte daran, wieder schnell auf das Eis zurückzukehren. Die Betreuung geht über die Verletzung hinaus. Die Ärzte und das Team unterstützen mich auch nach der Verletzung weiter.“

Blog News

,

Das SCC referierte an der „The Future of Football Medicine“

Vom 13. bis 15. Mai 2017 fand die „Football Medicine Strategies…

Swiss Concussion Center erstmalig beim Zürcher BrainFair

Seit 2002 präsentiert das Universitätsspital, die Universität…
, ,

Das Swiss Concussion Center stellt sich vor

Am 2. März 2017 fand die erste SCC-Fortbildung unter dem Thema…