Our baseline tests and training courses form the basis

for optimum diagnostic and therapeutic management of the concussed athlete.

We can provide you with a suitable service for all your requirements.

Baseline tests for individual athletes and sports clubs

The conduct of a neurological and neuropsychological examination, as well as an examination on the sense of balance and eye movements, is recommended before the start of the season, especially in elite sports. If an athlete suffers a head injury during the season, they are examined again and the results are compared with those of the baseline examination. Based on the difference determined between the two sets of results, it is then possible to detect even minor adverse effects that the athlete will not notice in everyday life. In addition, normal values vary in a healthy condition, and “normal” results may be of clinical relevance to the practice of specific types of sport.

Computer-assisted neuropsychological tests

Different cognitive functions, such as memory, concentration, attention or reaction time, are measured using the computer-assisted neuropsychological tests. The tests can be conducted in 54 languages. Test duration is approx. 30 minutes.

Testing of gaze stabilization (video head impulse test)

The video head impulse test (vHIT) assesses whether the balance system is capable of stabilizing the gaze (vestibulo-ocular reflex) during short, rapid head movements. The eye movements are recorded using a video camera. Test duration approx. 10 minutes.

Accelerometer-assisted balance test (BESS)

Postural control is documented in three different standing positions on two different types of floor and without visual perception (i.e. with closed eyes) using the accelerometer-assisted balance test (Balance Error Scoring System). Test duration approx. 10 minutes.

Testing the visual apparatus and eye movements

This test is a numbers identification test that simultaneously documents the following neurological and neurocognitive functions: identification of numbers, concentration, attention and speech/language. In addition, the eye movements are recorded using a video camera. Test duration approx. 10 minutes.

Our services

  • Athletes

  • 1

    number of sportsmen/women

  • Swiss Concussion Center (SCC)

    location

  • 3.5h

    duration

  • Pack A

    test contents

  • SCC-Arzt

    advice for the sportsman/woman

  • are handed over to the team doctor

    (abnormal resultst in advance by phone, others in writing)

    test results

  • 24/7

    medical emergency line

  • max. 72h

    guaranteed appointment in the event of head injury

  • Team

  • 18

    number of sportsmen/women

  • team training field

    location

  • ca. 60min/Sportler
    max. 1 Testtag/Team

    duration

  • Pack B

    test contents

  • Teamarzt

    advice for the sportsman/woman

  • are handed over to the team doctor

    (abnormal resultst in advance by phone, others in writing)

    test results

  • 24/7

    medical emergency line

  • max. 72h

    guaranteed appointment in the event of head injury

  • Team Plus

  • 28

    number of sportsmen/women

  • team training field

    location

  • ca. 60min/Sportler
    max. 2 Testtage/Team

    duration

  • Pack B

    test contents

  • Teamarzt

    advice for the sportsman/woman

  • are handed over to the team doctor

    (abnormal resultst in advance by phone, others in writing)

    test results

  • 24/7

    medical emergency line

  • max. 72h

    guaranteed appointment in the event of head injury

Training courses, advanced trainings and workshops

We provide regular training courses, advanced training courses and workshops on sports-related head injury for different target groups.

Optimum management after head injuries for physicians, physiotherapists and other health care providers

The main challenges for the team physician and the medical team are the absence of the option for estimating the severity of the injury on the touchline and judging the appropriate point for an early and safe return to routine training and competitive sports. This interactive course focuses on recommendations for general and sports-specific primary measures on the touchline and over the course of subsequent days.

Training courses on the conduct of individual test modules for baseline testing and interpretation of the results

The conduct of preseason baseline tests is already compulsory in many types of sports. We provide workshops on the conduct of neurological, neuropsychological, neurovestibular and oculomotor tests, and the interpretations of the results for personnel with an interest and involvement in sports medicine.

Annual symposium on head injuries associated with sports

The Swiss Concussion Center organizes an annual symposium on current general and specific topics relating to head injuries associated with sports. The speakers are selected on an interdisciplinary basis and the selection reflects the different fields involved in the management of concussion. With reference to content, the emphasis of the talks is on clinical relevance.

Unsere Basistestung und Schulungen sind die Grundlagen

für ein optimales diagnostisches und therapeutisches Management des Sportlers nach Gehirnerschütterung.

Bei uns finden Sie für alle Bedürfnisse ein passendes Angebot.

Basistestungen für Einzelsportler und Sportvereine

Die Durchführung einer neurologischen und neuropsychologischen Untersuchung sowie einer Untersuchung des Gleichgewichtssinns und der Augenbewegungen ist vor Saisonbeginn insbesondere im Leistungssport empfohlen. Erleiden Sportler während der Saison eine Kopfverletzung, werden sie erneut untersucht und die Resultate mit jenen der Basisuntersuchung verglichen. Aufgrund der festgestellten Differenz zwischen vorher und nachher ist es möglich, auch geringe Beeinträchtigungen zu erfassen, die der Sportler im Alltag nicht bemerkt. Zudem variieren Normwerte bereits im gesunden Zustand, und “normwertige” Resultate können für die Ausübung spezifischer Sportarten einen Krankheitswert haben.

Computergestützte neuropsychologische Tests

Mit computergestützten neuropsychologischen Tests werden unterschiedliche kognitive Funktionen wie Gedächtnis, Konzentration, Aufmerksamkeit oder Reaktionsschnelligkeit erfasst. Der Test ist in 54 Sprachen durchführbar. Testdauer ca. 30 Minuten.

Testung der Blickstabilisierung (Video-Kopfimpulstest)

Mittels Video-Kopfimpulstest (V-KIT) wird mit kurzen, schnellen Kopfbewegungen erfasst, ob das Gleichgewichtssystem den Blick stabilisieren kann (vestibulo-okulärer Reflex). Die Augenbewegungen werden dabei mit einer Video-Kamera aufgezeichnet. Testdauer ca. 10 Minuten.

Akzelerometer-gestützter Balance Test (BESS)

Mittels des Akzelerometer-gestützten Balance Tests (Balance Error Scoring System) wird die posturale Kontrolle in drei unterschiedlichen Standpositionen auf zwei unterschiedlichen Böden ohne visuelle Wahrnehmung (d.h. bei geschlossenen Augen) dokumentiert. Testdauer ca. 10 Minuten

Testung des visuellen Systems und der Augenbewegungen

Bei diesem Test handelt es sich um einen Zahlenidentifikationstest, der zeitgleich die folgenden neurologischen und neurokognitiven Funktionen erfasst: Zahlenidentifikation, Konzentration, Aufmerksamkeit und Sprechen/Sprache. Zusätzlich werden die Augenbewegungen mit einer Video-Kamera aufgezeichnet. Testdauer ca. 10 Minuten.

Unsere Angebote

  • Einzelsportler

  • 1

    Anzahl Sportler

  • Swiss Concussion Center (SCC) an der Schulthess Klinik

    Ort

  • 3.5h

    Dauer

  • Paket A

    Testinhalte

  • SCC-Arzt

    Beratung des Sportlers

  • Werden ausgehändigt bzw. an Teamarzt übermittelt

    Testresultate

  • 24/7

    Ärztliche Emergency Line

  • max. 72h

    Termingarantie bei Kopfverletzung

  • Team

  • 18

    Anzahl Sportler

  • Trainingsgelände des Teams

    Ort

  • ca. 60min/Sportler
    max. 1 Testtag/Team

    Dauer

  • Paket B

    Testinhalte

  • Teamarzt

    Beratung des Sportlers

  • Werden an Teamarzt übermittelt

    (auffällige Befunde telefonisch vorab, übrige schriftlich)

    Testresultate

  • 24/7

    Ärztliche Emergency Line

  • max. 72h

    Termingarantie bei Kopfverletzung

  • Team Plus

  • 28

    Anzahl Sportler

  • Trainingsgelände des Teams

    Ort

  • ca. 60min/Sportler
    max. 2 Testtage/Team

    Dauer

  • Paket B

    Testinhalte

  • Teamarzt

    Beratung des Sportlers

  • Werden an Teamarzt übermittelt

    (auffällige Befunde telefonisch vorab, übrige schriftlich)

    Testresultate

  • 24/7

    Ärztliche Emergency Line

  • max. 72h

    Termingarantie bei Kopfverletzung

Schulungs-/Weiterbildungsangebote und Workshops

Wir bieten regelmässig Schulungen, Weiterbildungen und Workshops rund um sportassoziierte Kopfverletzungen für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen an.

Optimales Management nach Kopfverletzungen für Ärzte, Physiotherapeuten und andere medizinische Berufe

Die Hauptherausforderungen für den Teamarzt und das betreuende medizinische Team sind die fehlende Möglichkeit der Abschätzung der Schwere der Verletzung am Spielfeldrand und des adäquaten Zeitpunkts für eine frühe und sichere Wiederaufnahme des Routinetrainings und des Wettkampfsports. In diesem interaktiven Kurs geht es um Empfehlungen für allgemeine und sportartspezifische Erstmassnahmen am Spielfeldrand und in den folgenden Tagen.

Schulungen zur Durchführung einzelner Testmodule der Basistestungen und Interpretation von Befunden

Die Durchführung präsaisonaler Basistestungen ist bereits in vielen Sportarten verpflichtend. Wir bieten Workshops zur Durchführung von neurologischen, neuropsychologischen, neurovestibulären und okulomotorischen Tests und Interpretation der gewonnenen Befunde für sportmedizinisch interessiertes und tätiges Personal an.

Jährliches Symposium zu sportassoziierten Kopfverletzungen

Das Swiss Concussion Center führt einmal jährlich ein Symposium zu aktuellen allgemeinen und spezifischen Themen rund um sportassoziierte Kopfverletzungen durch. Die Zusammenstellung der Referenten erfolgt interdisziplinär und bildet die unterschiedlichen im Management der Gehirnerschütterung involvierten Bereiche ab. Der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt der Vorträge liegt auf der klinischen Relevanz.